How to read Facebook messages without placing your friends on “seen zone”

Do you know how to see and read your messages on Facebook without being “seen”? There are moments and instances that we just want to read the messages and not to reply at all. Not that we don’t really want to reply but we just don’t know what to reply. However, Facebook is just so immediate to have it “seen”.

While there is no way to turn off that “seen” feature on Messenger, here’s some tricks that may somehow help you about it.

1.  Read messages through notifications

If you don’t already have Messenger notifications turned on, do it. Now, when your phone’s unlocked and you receive a message from somebody, you can read the messages as they come in as notifications. Don’t open the message as it’ll transfer you to the Messenger app. The catch is that you won’t be able to read long messages as the text on the notification is limited to a number of characters (which is different for iOS and Android).

2) Switch to airplane mode 

Another way to stealthily read messages is by turning on your phone’s airplane mode. Once it’s on, feel free to open the Messenger app and read all received messages. Afterwards, don’t forget to quit the app. When we say quit, we don’t mean just merely closing the app and returning to the home screen—you should completely log out of Messenger,  before switching airplane mode off. Here’s how to do it:

To log out of Facebook Messenger on your Android device

First, close the app, and get rid of it from your recent apps list, otherwise this trick won’t work.

In SETTINGS, scroll down to the APPS or APPLICATION MANAGER, and scroll down until you see MESSENGER.

Tap on this, and CLEAR DATA.

To log out of Facebook Messenger on your iPhone

Launch the Facebook Messenger app.

Tap the icon for SETTING, and then tap TERMS OF SERVICE.

Scroll down to DATA USE POLICY. Tap that blue hyperlink.

Tap the menu bar on the top left corner.

Tap MORE RESOURCES.

Tap DEVELOPER PAYMENT TERMS.

Tap your PROFILE PICTURE at the top right corner to reveal a drop down menu.

Tap LOG OUT.

3) Use a Google Chrome extension

A Chrome extension called “Unseen”  blocks the “seen” and “typing” receipts, and shows only the “delivered” receipts.  Simply install the extension and forget about it, and it’ll stop you from having to explain why you didn’t reply.
SOURCE: FHM